Skip navigation

About the Gabba Ward

The Gabba Ward is one of Brisbane City Council's 26 local electorates. It covers the suburbs of West End, Highgate Hill, South Brisbane, Dutton Park, Kangaroo Point, half of Woolloongabba and the western end of the East Brisbane. After the 2020 council election, the boundaries of the Gabba Ward were redrawn, and the suburb of East Brisbane and the Buranda side of Woolloongabba have shifted into the Coorparoo Ward (new ward boundaries shown via this link).

Demographically, the Gabba Ward is one of the youngest and most culturally diverse parts of Brisbane, with very high proportions of non-citizen migrant workers and international students (many of whom pay taxes and rates, yet are not entitled to vote). The Gabba Ward is also one of the fastest growing parts of South-East Queensland, and has experienced a wave of rapid high-density development which has led to overcrowded schools and a shortfall of public green space, community facilities and public transport services.